Advice: Take It or Leave It

beforeafter

Yes, My Wordy Journey’s had a makeover. Why? Well, partly because it’s been rather a long time since my last post and it was starting to look a bit neglected – and I couldn’t have that. But mainly, it was because I kept finding sources advising bloggers against the use of light text on dark backgrounds; apparently it can be difficult to read, put off followers, and it’s just generally not a good idea.

Oops.

It can be difficult to know how to respond to advice. On this occasion, I took it – and I took it fairly readily. As fond as I was of my original colour scheme, I don’t have a great deal of experience blogging and if a slightly different theme makes my site more accessible, it’ll be worth it. However, I have to admit, I’m not always so quick to embrace other people’s suggestions, particularly when it comes to my novel.

Whatever the situation, I’ll always try to listen and consider. I think that’s important. There are a huge number of people out there with advice for aspiring authors, and you can learn a lot from the experiences of others. I’m only 21, this is the first book I’ve ever tried to write, and it is hard. Tips, recommendations, pearls of wisdom – if they can make the process any easier, or save me from making costly mistakes, brilliant. But sometimes I’ll be reading through an article or pondering the advice someone’s given me and my gut will just tell me no. I don’t want to do that; I don’t think it’s right for me and for what I’m trying to do. And you know what? I think that’s okay.

At the end of the day, everybody’s different; we work in different ways, have different passions, different goals. Do I like it when somebody chooses not to take my advice? No, not particularly, and I certainly don’t think we should be afraid of accepting guidance. However, it’s our differences that make life interesting, and as long as we listen to others and accept responsibility for our decisions, I don’t think we should be resented for choosing our own paths.

Progress report: 44,500 words

Leave a Reply

